Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Children are unconditionally attached to their biological parents more than anyone else in this world. Numerous studies have been conducted to prove it otherwise and have failed to come up with a plausible condition where this unconditional attachment to their biological parents may not work. One such study was undertaken by Dr. Karp to prove the invalidity of Tertian village culture.

Dr. Karp's assessment of Dr. Field's observations lacks further information on how the interviews are conducted. If the interviews are conducted on children who have not been well-raised by adopted parents, then those children are likely to speak about their biological parents more than anything else in this world. On the other hand, interviews conducted on children who are given good care by their adopted parents will surely make the children speak mostly about their adopted parents.

For example, in poor countries children are likely to talk more about their adopted parents rather than biological parents. While in rich countries, the biological parents will outshine the adopted parents.

Thus to understand child-rearing traditions in island cultures, author needs to provide substantial evidences of how the relationship between the children and adopted parents impacted their conversations about their biological parents.