The following is from a recent email by the diord corp. Human resources manager. "TObor technologies found that mental health problems and mental illness were responsible for about 15 percent of employee sick as they do for physical illness. In addition the company hired an on-site psychologist and created a system that allows workers to schedule confidential counselling appointments. After one year, the number of sick days used by employees declined by 10 percent. Diord corp has had an increase in employee sick days over the past two years, so we should introduce a similar insurance plan and counselling program. These measures will surely reduce employee absenteeism and cause and increase in productivity.

Mental illness has long been sidelined as compared to physical illness while providing health insurance to employees. It has come to the notice of Tobor Technologies that mental health problems accounted for about 15 percent of employee sick leaves. Hence they hired on-site psychologist to treat mental health issues. After one year they found a decline of sick days by 10 percent.

So, the author intends to apply the same action for Diord Corp. and obtain reduced absenteeism and an increase in productivity.

The author assumes that the increase in employee sick days in Diord Corp. is due to mental health issues primarily. The author gives no evidence of this claim. As such if the increase is due to other reasons, then recruiting an on-site psychologist would be futile.

The author makes no statement w.r.t. the productivity of Diord Corp. If the employee productivity has seen no decline, then there seems to be no cause to worry about the mental health of employees. Such a measure would be an additional step on part of Diord Corp. to improve employee welfare.

Tobor Technologies did not conduct their survey over a period of 2 years to report results. What if after 1 year, employee satisfaction was insufficient to prevent them from taking more sick days. Also no details have been given as to how much increase in employee sick days has Diord Corp. seen and whether it is sufficient to recruit an onsite psychologist.

On the whole, Tobor Technologies needs to provide more details as to how its survey results can be translated into rise in employee productivity in Diord Corp. Diord Corp. on its part, needs to thoroughly examine the pros and cons of Tobor Technologies measure before implementing the same.