Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

For long there has been a debate on how a corporation's success will be evaluated. Some of the key factors include the profit it makes, the contribution to the economy as a whiole and the well being of societies.

I do not agree that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible. There are numerous examples where successful corporations have been motivated by promoting the well being of societies and environments where they operate.

Take for example the Robert Bosch group of industries based in Germany. They have their own foundation where they invest a part of their profits on social welfare. This does not however impact the amount of profit it generates. In fact it helps in increasing the sales of its products due to increase in its reputation as a socially responsible organization. Another example is Intel which has a special program for promoting engineering talent among female population.

Similar characteristics of revenue generation are observed in some major Indian software giants like Infosys, Wipro, Tata Consultancy Services etc. The developing nature of Indian economy acts as a catalyst for the implementation of their welfare schemes. Many of these software giants have their own education programs where they educate and provide sponsorship to the deserving candidates.

On the flip side, sufficient revenue needs to be earned to get fruitful results while investing in social schemes. As such with meagre profits, the corporation must strive to increase their profit as much as possible, instead of diverting its resources towards welfare schemes.

Thus it is essential that corportations don't undermine the importance of promoting the well being of societies while aiming for higher profit margins. The contribution of a corportation towards the welfare of society is highly critical to the overall success of a corporation.