A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

Civil rights have been the backbone of any democracy. All citizens of a democracy are supposed to enjoy the civil rights bestowed upon them by the constitution. One of the primary civil rights is the right to benefit from his or her own labor. This right ensures that a citizen is well paid for his or her work in the economy irrespective of his or her background.

I fully agree with the author on removal of civil rights from a person who has knowingly committed a crime. The primary reason being that a nation should not bestow civil rights on a person who has endangered the security of a country knowingly. There can be numerous examples which can be cited to support this claim.

Consider the example of a politician who enjoys highest form of civil rights in the form of using state machinery for its personal benefit. Any politician who has breached the law with full knowledge about its implications, should be stripped of any civil rights. If such tainted politicians are allowed to retain civil rights, then it will set a poor example of judicial dealings in such cases.

Another example is of a bank robber who has endangered the nation's security to the maximum possible extent. Allowing such a bank robber to retain civil rights is like allowing anti-national elements to have a free run in the society. This is definitely going to endanger the nation's security.

The above examples demonstrate that allowing criminals to retain civil rights is the most disasterous thing that can happen to a democracy where the citizens look upto the constitution to protect themselves from fraudulent activities. Civil rights form the basis of such a protection which entitles a civilian to raise their voice against any atrocity which has happened by breach of constitutional laws. Thus it is highly essential that the sanctity of such rights be maintained to protect the nation from its abuse by anti-national elements.