The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The business manager of a television station claims that to attract more viewers to their late-night news program, they must restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. This claim can be an outcome of below reason.

The revenue of a television station hugely depends on the number of viewers to its programs. As such, when the number of viewers decreased over the past year due to increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news, then it must surely have caused concern to the business manager.

However, specific evidences are required to evaluate this argument as they would lead to varying the claim of the author. Firstly, the author does not mention the number of viewers who complained against the new schedule. If this number was very small, then there is no guarantee of improving the revenue by restoring the previous schedule.

Moreover, no reason is being mentioned as to why multiple local businesses canceled their advertising contracts with them. If the reason was purely based on the dwindling needs of their products, then there seems no reason for them to continue with their earlier contracts as it would hamper the revenue of local businesss if not the television station.

The author needs to provide statistical evidence as to how many viewers were fond of the station's coverage of weather and local news. Unless this number is made available, there seems to be no point in speculating the impact of switching to the new schedule on the revenue of television station. In addition to this, local businesses need to mention in their feedback as to the reason they canceled their advertising contract.

Therefore, the author needs to specify clearly all these evidences in order to strengthen his claim of restoring older schedule of covering weather and local news. If the assumptions prove unwarranted, then the author has to switch to the new schedule of increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news.