"Governments are justified in circumventing civil laws when doing so is vital to the protection of national security. "

Write an essay in which you take a position on the statement above. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true.

Civil laws are made for the protection of citizens. Circumventing them by the government for protection of national security is bound to cause controversies. It is essential that these controversies are cleared before any decision is taken on circumventing civil laws.

The author mentions that governments are justified in circumventing civil laws for protection of national security. I agree completely to this statement. Numerous examples will validate this action by governments.

Take for example, in India during the reign of Prime Minister Indira Gandhi when emergency was imposed on its citizens to protect national security from anti-social elements. This step called for a lot of debate on both sides of leadership but ultimately led to the eradication of anti-social elements.

Other examples are that of communist regimes such as China, Russia etc. Here too, the governments frequently circumvent the civil laws when they have to qwell violent protests which may threaten national security. Again these steps are frequently criticised by opposition parties for political reasons.

On the contrary, this behavior of governments cannot be allowed to become a norm. As this would violate the very purpose of drafting civil laws. For example, routinely overpowering the state and local administration is bound to have people lose faith in those constitutional features which constitutes the backbone of a nation.

Hence, civil laws are to be circumvented only as a last resort to protect the national security. Doing so should be justified by means of proper judicial investigations and political coverages. Such additional steps are meant to convince the citizens of the need to circumvent civil laws only in dire circumstances.