We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure

The proposal of the movie producer to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure quality product offers an interesting argument but to move forward it definitely requires more information and thought. The reasons provided by him seems to be logical and probable but there are various hidden factors which needs to be addressed which can lead to a success or failure of the movie.

The first question which needs to be addressed is that although the first-time director has only previous experience of shooting commercials for a shampoo company, it is very much probable that he has got a high experience in terms of number of years. He would have faced and directed several types of actors and would have successfully done his job. This past experience can be handy and might be better than many experienced directors in the movie industry.

The movie producer writes in his memo that advertising business is notoriously wasteful because it takes take after take for one scene. This generalization cannot be done for all directors of advertisements. It is possible that the first-time director for the movie would have different work styles and can finish any advertisements in very less time as compared to others. Same goes for the assistant producers and directors. It can be that production time for movie is much shorter than expected because of the new crew with work experience in advertising sector.The movie producer feels that greater expenditure will be levied on the actors which may or may not be true. His argument is based on the fact that that they will have to put in extra time waiting for the set to be arranged, this may not be true.

Since the producer has never worked with them he cannot doubt their potentials.In conclusion, increasing of funding for the movie by 10% in order to ensure a quality product need not be true because of the reasons mentioned above. One chance needs to be given to this new team and it might be possible that the movie production finishes in a lot lesser time than expected and becomes a blockbuster