108. Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Some people tend to think that critical judgment of work is valuable only if it comes from someone who is an expert in that area, others seem to disagree with it. In my opinion, I believe that it is true that the critical judgement has little value if it comes from the layperson, and the following discussion reveals my stand and reasoning.

To begin with, the critical judgement from the expert in that field can make more convicing. To be specific, the critical judgement has important value from the expert because of their specialization. For example, I did a statistic project when I was in college. When I finished my project, I think it was perfect because of the adulation from my roommate. However, I was upset after the reviewing from the scholar who was a manager of one company. He told me that the most important process of my project was wrong so that my whole result was not valuable. I believe that the judgement from him was important because he was a successful manager in that field. Thus, I think it is true that the judgement from the expert is valuable.

Moreover, the expert has more relate knowledge about the same field. That is to say if the judgement came from the expert, it is more cogent to us. For instance, if we hear the doctor to tell us that we should not eat too much junk food, we may think that this judgement is valuable because of their career. However, if the judgement came from layperson, we would think that this argument could not convince us because they did not have too much knowledge about this field.

True, some people might say that every critical judgement is important because there are different several conceptions from diverse view, and we have to accept them. However, this belief fools to consider the fact that if the critical judgement came from layperson, it would not have any precision. For example, if one person who is lack of exercising wants to teach you how to swim, and criticizes your posture, we may think that his teaching is not cogent. Thus, it is hard to convince people of this idea.

To sum up, with the reasons mentioned above, I think that it is true that the critical judgement has little value if it is not come from an expert in that field. There seems to be some validity to the other points of view. Nevertheless, I still believe that my reasons for my opinion are stronger.