Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Laws are built as a disciplinary line that the people of a nation should not cross, but laws do get old and circumstances changes with time leading to what was not ok in the past being ok in todays world. Hence I agree that laws should be flexible in most cases and should account for various circumstances, times and places.

To begin with old laws may not hold that much of water in contemperary world. For example, United States of America’s founders created second amendment that protects the right of citizens to bear arms in order to defend themselves from government tyranny. At the time the law was created it was very well justified, as most of weapons in those times couldn’t be used for mass shootings. However, nowadays we have modern weapons which are far more deadly then they were in the eighteenth century. In light of the recent events, mass shootings in El Paso, Dayton and Las Vegas where the convict used automatic weapons capable of firing multiple rounds per seconds amounting to huge number of deaths, this shows us why it is important that second amendment should be modified to protect citizens safety. The above shows that the circumstances have changed since the 18th century and so should the law.

Also, if the nation is big enough to have multiple states, many of them having different cultures and religions. Then laws should also be created taking into account those believes. For Example, In usa, states of california and newyork are pro-choice in terms of abortion and people support these laws, where as states like Louisiana, Alabama, where majority of the population are catholic and pro-life. So the laws should be flexible enough to allow abortions in states of california and new york and forbidden in Louisiana and Alabama.

Finally, there can be some laws that do not need to be flexible, like in case of first degree murder or mass shootings as these are clear cut monstrous acts that should be punished with as much speed as possible.

In conclusion, as laws are created with much deliberation, the implementaion of the law should also be done with similar delibration as what was not normalised in the past must have evolved to something more complex in todays world.