Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement asserts that laws according to certain circumstances, could be bent to accommodate various situations. Although it is hard to argue that laws should consider various cases, it is not sound that the law itself should be flexible. The numerous different situations should be clearly stated by written laws because without written laws there is a chance that it can be misinterpreted by the judges or lawyers.

Laws should be able to consider various cases of incidents because a person's actions may be influenced by the person's milieus, and the weight of crime will be different from case to case. For instance, if one man steals a bread because he is too poor but needs to support his family and another man hijacks an airplane to commit terror, even though the base actions of these two men are equal as stealing, the weight and intentions of the two actions vary. If the law simply stated that stealing will result in a sentence to jail, both men would end up in jail regardless of the degree of their actions. Consequently, laws should be able to anticipate these situations so that people are judged and controlled by enunciated rules that result in fair trials.

Nevertheless, even though the entire law should incorporate different situations, laws itself should not be a target of varying interpretation. If the law was to be interpreted differently from person to person it would likely result in chaos. For instance, in ancient china the rules of the government were less substantial compared to the laws that were spoken out by the king. This enabled the king's overuse of his power and people who lost trust from the king sometimes got killed simply by the king's orders. This example, although stating the history, may be applicated to contemporary society. Judges who are responsible of making judicious decisions inside the court may be misled by varying interpretations of the law, or even interpret the law in favor of his/her emotions. Hence, it would be preposterous to argue that the written laws itself should be pliable to different analysis.

Finally, if laws were to be flexible, courts and judges would have to keep on making exceptions for unlimited cases. Going back to the stealing example, if there is just the law about forbidding to steal and the judges make an exception about stealing because of poverty, the law itself can be put in danger. Since, there has been a proceeding case of making an exception, there will be following examples allowing exceptions. In the end, the judges will be impossible to make a sound judgement because the law itself has become so vague.

In conclusion, even though the laws as a whole should try to cover various situations that occur in the community, the laws itself should not be the subject of various understandings. Also, allowing the laws to be bent will result in a much-complicated judgement of the judges. Therefore, to prevent these situations, the legislation should anticipate various situations and prevent the bending of the law beforehand.