Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Laws are created by authorities to maintain the type of discipline they expect in their jurisdiction. So, laws can be made by the head of the family, by school authorities or even by a nation to make living in the family, school or nation easy. In my opinion rules made by different authorities are based on different requirements by the head or ruler. So, they are to some extent flexible according to various circumstances, times, and places. But if they are made strictly non flexible then it can lead to many problems for the people following it.

To begin, the flexibility we are talking about is dependent on various circumstances, times and places. So, if these parameters do not differ then laws are strictly rigid and they cannot be changed. So, for a crime committed at a family level and a crime committed at a national level are to be treated differently. For instance, a stealing from parents purse at home and a burglary at a bank are both same type of crime but definitely needs to be disparately punished. Therefore, the child at home might be not be allowed to go out for a specific period of time as a punishment but the burglar will be kept behind the bars for years. This is what is followed in today's world and is reasonably correct. Now, if here the punishment for both the criminals would have been the same then it would have led to destroying the child's life just because of a small crime which could have been sorted at family level and saved his future.

Additionally, the crime committed by a school child and a crime committed by an adult cannot be treated equally Because they differ in time by age and place. For instance, a school student caught copying cannot be charged heavily as in case of a professor caught for plagiarism in his research paper. The reason being that the student and professor are not at par in knowledge, age or anything. So, the crime might be similar but needs to be treated differently.

Finally, the cases of accidents that we see also occur at different circumstances and the level of punishments vary according to the understanding of the judge. For example, an accident because of murky weather at a hill station cannot be considered same as the accident on a traffic jammed road in a city only because the places were different which totally changes the case. The driver in the hill station case might be cautious enough but due to the weather the accident was inevitable whereas in the city case the impatience of the driver lead to the accident and therefore they are sentenced punishment accordingly by the judge at the court.

To conclude, the flexibility of law is important because even if the type of crime might be same the circumstance, time and place totally change the severity of crime. Therefore, even today there are judges to decide the level of punishment to be given to the criminal and people are not sentenced punishment at the time of crime based on the category of it.