The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station

"Over the past year, our late- night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from the viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late- night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

The argument posed over here says that the time for weather and local news should be restored to stop attenuating the number of viewers and advertising revenues.

One of the reason the business manager states that they received complaints from viewers and they were "concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news". It might have happened that the weather conditions during the past year might have been worst in some parts of country and public wanted to watch more of its updates. For example, when Mumbai is inundated with heavy rains, Television viewers through out the nation turn to news channel depicting the current situation of Mumbai. People watch late-night news to know the prediction of weather condition in coming days and accordingly plan their schedule. Similarily, during summer, the intensity of enervating sun led to death of many school going children in Bihar. Contemporarily, people become concerned of weather consition of their milieu and need more of its knowledge rather than national news.

Since it's late-night news program, the tenacity of its audience would be quite less. Consequently, the frequency of advertisements could be increased. This has no co-relation to restore the time devoted to weather and local news. Moreover, it might have happened that the local businesses could have got other places at more affordable price to advertise. This again isn't germane with the issue to restore time for weather and local news.

On the other hand, the change made in the last year might have attracted new viewers those who are more concerned with national news. The program might lose them if they restore the former apportioned timing. Since, it has been long that the change has been made, the lost viewers may have found some other news program and may not return to this late-night program. For instance, when smartphones were introduced to market, people initially found some difficulty in switching to these phones from the previously used mobile phones. But later on, smartphones burgeoned and audience would now be hesitant to move back to keyboard- operated mobiles.