A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The explanation for the observation of lower level of tooth decay in in children living in Nepal as compared to us that regular dental care is not helpful is based few unsubstantiated assumptions which need to be ratified with the help of evidence.

The only fact that number of children suffering with tooth decay is less in Himalayan region of Nepal as compared to united states doesn't prove that the regular dental care received by children in united states is not helpful. there can be many other reasons other than the number of times dental check ups taken accounting for the lesser tooth decay. For instance, along with no provision of professional dental care available in Nepal there might be no tooth decaying sweets available in Nepal for children. even if they have all that junk available in their area they might not be consuming it on a regular basis. As we know how much children love eating junk food and sweets, which are the major reason for the tooth decay in children. children in united states obviously have these junk food and sweets on a regular basis which leads to tooth decaying of these children. Therefore, even if they go for yearly or half yearly dental check ups it would not be enough to stop their tooth decay. so, less availability of these junk food and sweets to children in Nepal and increased consumption of these snacks by children in united states can explain the reason for lower number of children suffering with tooth decay.

Additionally, dental care is not only about visiting a dentist on a regular basis. There are many other factors that decide your dental health. factors like, how regularly you brush, the quality of products you use for dental care and the type of food you consume. Now if the children in united states even after having the provision of professional dental care do not brush their teeth regularly and properly it can lead to increased tooth decay issue. Another example could be that the children living in Himalayan region in Nepal might be using products from natural source to brush their teeth which would obviously be pure and contain no chemicals as compared to the synthetic ones available in the market. so, these could be possible explanation for less number of tooth decay in children living in Himalayan region.

Finally, it is unconscionable to blame the dentist and regular dental check up for higher number of tooth decay cases in children living in any area. The dentist might be providing the required service by explaining the children all the precautions they should take and the dental care they should follow to prevent tooth decay but children might not be following it.

To conclude, children themselves are more responsible for their dental health than the dentist or any other factor. This explanation for lesser number of tooth decay in children staying in Nepal is not cogent. it does not comprehends all the possible reasons for the difference in number and provides explanation based on narrow view.