A private company should not have the right to do business in a city if the majority of the city’s residents object to the private company’s business operations.

It had been a long time our country had gained freedom and constitution includes article for freedom of expression and the right to be heard by the laws. The prompt recommends that private company should withdraw its decision of doing business in a city if the city residents are against it. Reading through the lines some historic events trigger my mind and as I think more deeply and rationally over the given statement, I strongly agree with this suggestion and argue habitants have complete right to control their land from the invaders for three main reasons.

To begin, the residents are beguilded deviously by the refulgent business people. History has taught us many events- one of the main example I would like to state in relevant to the argument- small part of India was initially controlled by Britain for overseas business, the region ruled by them eventually burgeoned and they conquered India for several decades. Our forefathers had to struggle intensely to regain the land. People were so jejune that they blindly trusted foreigners and yielded everything they had in return for good future, unfortunately it turned the other way round. Officers with business minded are driven solely by self- interest. They never care for the welfare of inhabitants, profit is their main aim. In order to achieve this goal they make specious promises, make the inhabitants have trust in them and once they get control, the naïve people just contrite.

Secondly, the residents have been living in that particular region gor very long, they are well aware of the climate, heritage ,culture, soil, land and so on. If they are raising issue against company’s business operations, there might be some intense reason nettling them. For example, recently some areas of Bangalore have proscribed construction of apartments for five years. The reason being shortage of drinking water and water scarcity to the city residents. It seems that the residents have previously suggested the issue to the concerned department, possibly no action would have been taken to sort the problem. This became nascent and today as we can see the problem is being face by larger mass, if measures would have been taken at earlier step this might not have happened. Hence, it’s highly recommended to follow the residents advice as they know the consequence that might affect people, land, ecosystem on larger scale, this would indirectly lead to holding the project, thus a great loss of time, investment and labour work on company’s side too as is very evident from the example stated.

One might try to justify that this would lead to development of society, bring greater revenues and employment for the regional people, it might appear tempting at first, but once given a deeper analysis- these might turn poignant over long period of time. In conclusion, I would like to restate that I firmly agree with the argument, a private company should not have the right to do business in a city if the majority of the city’s residents object to it. Since, it’s a place of dwelling the measures and decision should be taken considering the welfare of citizens.