coastal wetland

In the letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News, it states that the West Lansburg council prohibits the construction of road in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg as it might effect tufted groundhog, thus disturbing it's milieu. However, while the conclusion drawn in the letter might hold water, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that if not substantiated, dramatically weakens the pervasiveness of the argument. Thus, the following three questions must be addressed.

Firstly, Do they have any scientific findings that the tufted groundhog still exists? It might have happened that tufted groundhogs may have become extinct. Perhaps, they may not contribute significantly to the "biodiversity". It may be possible that they could survive in a variety of ambience. If either of these scenarios proves true, then the assertion made in the letter is significantly hampered.

Secondly, since the road is being constructed on the 'edge' of wetlands, will it necessarily effect the tufted groundhogs in the 'coastal' wetlands? It is so evident that these could be very far or have good distance, between edge and coastal region that it would not probably hamper their sanctuary. Moreover, this stand has been initiated by the local development group, the group might have considered the possible damage the construction would cause, since it is not so considerable hence they may have step forward. Infact, Local groups are generally more concerned about environment other than the government or any organisation. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Finally, The results of construction is being compared with Eastern Carpenteria, which though had similiar sanctuary but the action taken against it were completely different. In Eastern Carpenteria, the Sanctuary has been rescind unlike West Lansburg Sanctuary where the argument is about building of road on the edge of wetlands. If the sanctuary has been repealed, it is manifest that the place will lose its biodiversity and wildlife. If this holds true, the conclusion drawn in the original statement is considerably weakened.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwanted assumptions. If the author is able to anser the three questions above and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of proposed recommendation to built the road along the edge od coastal wetlands of West Lansburg Sanctuary.