Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument is about the differences between the results of two methods done in Teria. One of them has been done twenty years ago by Dr. Field using the observation-centered method, the second one has been conducted recently by Dr. Karp using the interview-centered method. Both of them are about the Tertian child-rearing practices. “Dr. Field concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. By contrast, Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village.” The comparison of these methods for some reason is wrong.

Dr. Field has done his research 20 years ago. 20 years ago, everything was different from now. There have been many changes in this Island in this period. Therefore, the results of Dr. Field ‘s research could be correct for that time regarding the conditions on the Island. Perhaps the child-rearing was carried out by the whole village a few years ago as a group, and this method was custom at that time. However, after 20 years, many things can be changed by different factors, including the method of child-rearing and the culture of people on the Island. Therefore, the results of Dr. Karp also can be correct based on new conditions on the Island. Conclusively, I believe that these two methods should not be compared with each other. Because they have different variables and conditions.

Both anthropologists only have relied on one method for their research and there is no evidence, why they have chosen these methods. Do not these methods have any error? Has Dr. Field seen the nurture of all children on the island? Has Dr. Karp interviewed all the children on the Island?

Because of the reasons mentioned above, the argument has some weaknesses, and they should be considered. Additionally, if anthropologists want to have strong research with acceptable and more reliable results, they should use both methods with each other. This is because both of them have their own merits and can help researchers to find better results.