The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

This argument is about the number of dormitories in Buckingham College and some hypotheses about increasing the number of them to attract more students. The idea of the provision of extra dormitories by Buckingham college might prove to be advantageous to students in certain ways but not always. The argument made by the director of student housing at Buckingham College though somewhat is persuasive, cannot be accurate because it is based on several flaws.

According to the first assumption of the director of student housing at Buckingham College “ To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories” and the enrollment in this college is on the rise and based on current trends, will increase over the next 50 years, so the space of the existing dormitory is not adequate. The question is that based on which figures the director claim this assumption and how he can predict the increase of the enrollment trend. What weakens this argument is the lack of statistical data which can prove this trend. How does he know the number of enrollments will increase? If the number of students will decrease, what the officials want to do with an extra room which has been built and they are vacant. How does he know the number of enrollments will increase? If the number of students will decrease, what the officials want to do with extra rooms which have been built and they are vacant. What do they want to do with financial losses? The is no answer to these questions.

Based on the second assumption “the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing.” Again, there is no statistical evidence about this subject. How can he predict the increasing trend of the average rent in the upcoming year? The amount of rent in the new year may decrease, and the rent of the apartment becomes more affordable for students and their families. Additionally, how he knows all students will find it difficult to afford off-campus housing. Some rich families may help their children to rent a house or apartment in the city of the university.

Finally, the director of student housing at Buckingham College claims that “attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham.” The question is that the only factor of attraction of students is to build new dormitories. The director fails to consider other important factors in attracting students, including quality education, the facilities provided for students and enough number of good professors for them. Each student has his/her factors for choosing the university, therefore the director in order to strengthen his argument should consider all of them.