The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford offcampus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Director of the student recommends to Buckingham college to build new dormitories which eventually attract more students to enroll in the college. However, the writer relies on unsupported assumptions about what kind of students will try to enroll in the future and current trends will similar over next 50 years. Therefore, the argument is fundamentally flawed and unconvincing.

First, the student director assumes that the current trends will be similar after 50 years and student size will get doubled which is clearly not acceptable. Perhaps, it is possible that later situation is exactly opposite to the current trends and in fact, students do not have any interest in enrollment to this college. Thus there is potential that current dormitories space can be adequate for students or we can say that there is a lot of empty rooms in dormitory after 50 years.

Additionally, the writer provides no evidence that average rent for an apartment in town will increase continuously in the coming years. It is true that average rent of a town has increased in recent years but it is also possible that the Buckingam college is located in the countryside where the rent had not increased as it increased in downtown. For instance, if the dormitories are full and area, where college is situated, has a very less rate of increase, then students can go for the rented apartment in the local area. Even if the college is located in downtown, perhaps new students of the college can afford to pay higher rents in the town. One can't predict the financial status of future students.

The notion that installing new dormitories will increase their enrollment would be strengthened by evidence that along with installing new dorms, college is providing better teaching resources which will eventually increase enrollment. In fact, students will compromise with housing needs if they found that college has well-known teaching staff such as noble price winner then one can conclude with more confidence that enrollment will increase. Also, the writer would be considerably persuasive if he showed that college is more focussing on research and tries to encourage students to do research-oriented projects.

In conclusion, the writer is not necessarily mistaken in stating that creating new dorms would increase in registration of students. However, to support the assertion that recommendation will effectively solve the problem in future , the writer must provide the scope of the problem more cogently and submit more conclusive evidence.