The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Buckingham college is planning to build more number of dormitories to serve a better housing needs of the students, expecting the growth in enrollment and various other factors. Stated in this manner, the argument fails to mention several other factors as well as support the given reasons, on basis of which it could be evaluated. The conclusion relies upon assumptions, for which there is no clear evidence. thus, the argument is unconvincing, weak and has several flaws.

Firstly, argument mentions that based on current trends, the enrollment of new students is growing and is expected to be do...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.