In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

There is a long-lasting discussion about whether imagination or knowledge are more valuable assets in the professional world. In some cases, experts argue that people who lack experience are free to imagine what is possible without constraints. On the other hand, pundits claim that it is through experience that the imagination can flourish. We argue that both attitudes are fundamental to a professional success and that it is in the ability of knowing when to use one or another that lies the secret for professional success.

In a first glance, it could be argue that imagination is extremely important in some fields, such as design, liberal arts, literature, architecture, propaganda and drama. Although this is true, it has an assumption that other fields don’t need imagination. For instance, most of the people would say that it is more important to be creative in an artistic field rather than in a scientific one. However, this argument is overly simplistic. In fact, engineers, chemists and scientists also need imagination in order to make progress. In other worlds, in a chemical lab, for example, imagination is needed to choose what elements should be mixed and make other small decisions.

Nevertheless, knowledge is the perfect balance to imagination. Again, common sense would probably argue that knowledge is more important in some fields than in others. However, once again this is a misleading interpretation. Take a view in an artistic painting: knowing about the techniques, understanding the consequences of mixing to colours, mastering the effects of the colours in the painting are as important as having imagination. In the same direction, returning to our chemical lab example, knowledge is extremely important as well. In fact, it is through knowledge that imagination can be canalized in a more important way. Otherwise, there is a risk that imagination cannot be transformed in a practical result.

Therefore, we argue that it is the combination of both knowledge and imagination that matters in a professional world. Of course there are people more inclined to imagination and people that rely more in experience and knowledge, but the better professionals are those that can use both in a clever way. And, as ironic it may seem, knowing when to use experience and when to use imagination it is also a skill that is developed through the combination of both imagination and knowledge.