Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument that Omeha University should terminate student evaluation of professors in order to improve the market placement of their students is based on unconvincing reasoning, presenting no causal relations that can support the link between the two actions. More evidence is needed before implementing any measure in this regard.

Although the argument that professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes to receive better scores might seem logical at first glance, it is flawed and unsupported. In fact, the author does not offer any information able to support his assumpt...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.