The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

In this letter, the editor of a scientific journal claims that the birth order effects on an individual's levels of stimulation. To support her argument, she points out that a recent study that in simulating situations, firstborn infant monkey and human produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Also, she said during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had the higher amount of cortisol than did those who had several offspring. Careful scrutiny reveals that this argument has several logical flaws.

To begin with, the author hastily assumes that the hormone cortisol which makes primes more active can indicates the levels of stimulation. More activity cannot mean the levels of stimulation or even, could indicate that weakness for stress. Until the author presents us specified data that is whether the amount of hormone cortisol can be an indicator of the level of stimulation, we cannot be convinced by this argument.

Second, based on the fact the amount of cortisol is higher in firstborn monkey than other monkeys, she thinks the word, 'twice' is a statistically significant number. There is no such guarantee that the word 'twice' really show substantiate increase. For example, the original amount of the hormone in non-firstborn monkeys is so small that the double amount in firstborn monkeys is little to affect the activity of monkeys. IF this is true, her argument is not proper

Third, if we admit other problematic assumptions are true, there is still a critical problem. She thinks that the firstborn child and first-time mother are same. Her conclusion that firstborn children have their own character is related to the genetic trait, however, the first-time mother is not relevant to genetics rather than relating to experiences. If she cannot why she thinks that two different research materials are similar, this argument cannot be cogent.

In conclusion, this letter of an editor of a scientific journal is dubious as it stands. To make her argument more persuasive, she has to give us data about whether the amount of hormone cortisol can show the levels of stimulation and explain that the double amount of firstborn monkeys in the stressful conditions is the really meaningful number. To evaluate better, we need to know that why she thinks the firstborn monkeys and the first-time mothers are similar.