Claim: Colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidance for students. Reason: College students—like people in general—prefer to follow directions rather than make their own decisions.

Stating that colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidance for students, this view asserts that concentrating on only some courses which are helpful to specify a student’s ability is helpful to make more efficient education. In some sense, focusing all learning on a field may be. In my point, however, considering that recent scholar trend which needs interdisciplinary co-work and the possibility that their careers will change or the fact that their interests are not fixed.

Of course, few would disagree that the learning knowledge which is not relevant to an individuals major may become waste of time. Considering that modern fields have been become depth, broaden, hard to learn with small effort, using the time to study other fields could not be advantageous to both fields. For example, fields which need professional and high-level skills such as sports and arts, it takes a long time to get some degree of ability which gives freedom a person working as an independent agent. If sports star like Cristiano Ronald was forced to learn math or science and do homework, we cannot see ‘present’ him, a great sports star. This bottom-line is that because our time is limited, it is a short time for investing all the time only to a field.

However, can we always say that focusing only on one field is beneficial? My answer is definitely no. Considering that ironically, the deeper and broaden modern scholar world have become, the more co-work have been needed. For example, in biological study, if a doctor wants to research a disease, there need contributions from statistic field to survey the age and sex of people who have the disease and from genetics to analyze genes which can because of the disease and from medicines to test drug which can be a cure for the disease. Even if there are helps from specialists who work in other fields, the doctor has to know basic knowledge about other fields to summarize and analyze data and write a paper. This implies that no matter how complex and hard a field is, we are better to know basic knowledge about other fields for efficient researches.

Moreover, when it comes to our interest which is very changeable and ability which we have not been discovered, it is proper to enroll in other major’s lectures. For example, one of my friend’s major was biology and he wanted to study mental disease. After he took a class from the department of design only for getting credits, however, he found that he has talent and a big interest in fashion industry and design. Then he changed his major and now, he works as a professional designer. This implies that taking a class from other fields give us fortunate and unintentional chance to find real interest and totally change one’s life.

To summarize, many people would agree that focusing on only one field give us the specialty about the field, However, considering the trend in advanced science which need co-operating with other fields and serendipity which a class give us, we can say that the good advice to policy-makers related to education is university students have the right to get intellectual inspiration by studying other fields. Only ignoring the importance of these conditions, people would claim that educational institutes need to leave only required courses in their curriculum.