Claim: Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's major field of study. Reason: Acquiring knowledge of various academic disciplines is the best way to become truly educated.

Stating that universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's major field of study, this view asserts that true education recommend to experience various field of study. In some sense, it is true that knowing field which is outside from one's major could be helpful for true learning. In my point of view, however, considering that modern scholars have been and will be more complex following development of technology or more detail in a field and wasted time while a person learn other field which would not be helpful to his career, it is proper to study one's own field.

Of course, few would disagree that comprehensive learning is more advantageous. Considering that many corporations prefer certain candidates who have skills or knowledge in many field as possible as they can, it is desirable for students to accumulate diverse knowledge of many fields of study. For example, one of retired board of directors of global corporation, Samsung, say that their personnel team are recommended to hire people who have diverse experience in many fields, no matter what the experience is in workplaces or in school. It is desirable to recommend to have diverse contact with many fields of study.

However, can we always say that combining many fields is advantageous??? My answer is no. Considering that most of fields have been more and more specified because of development of technologies and accumulated achievement of a filed during the human history, it looks almost impossible to learn only a field properly. For example, there are many minute field in biology, such as taxonomy, genetics, molecular biology, evolutionary biology etc.. And each minor field have been developed by many scholars and development of technology which can be applied usefully in each field have invented and are being invented. Because of these increased complexity, competent students cannot learn other minor field, although they all can be called as 'biology. Then, how about totally different field?

Moreover, considering that, many students can learn many fields when they are undergraduate students, they have little time to many fields. Also, because they have to enroll proper credit to graduate in their major, absolute time to use decrease. That can lead students to be distant from their major which can be actually helpful to their career in the future So, It is hard to say that students have to learn many fields

To summarize, many people would agree that other fields which are unrelated to one's major will be complementary to a filed's disadvantageous. However, when it comes to that many fields are more specified and complex and that all students have only limited time in university, it is proper for students to focus on only their major. Only foolish people would claims that university have to make policy about forcing to enroll classes which are outside one's major