The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high-quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

In this memo, the new vice president of Saturnian claims that the company should resume production of alpaca overcoat, as a result, the company's profit will increase. To support her argument, she points out that the competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat and since the price of clothing has increased, the customers would be willing to pay the higher price and other evidence. Careful scrutiny reveals that this argument has several logical flaws.

Firstly, the author hastily assumes that the market condition is the same as five years ago. Common sense tells us, in the modern economy, the fashion of clothing and the favor of buyers is changing very fast. There is a possibility that even if the coat is vogue five years ago, it would be considered as old-fashioned now.

If she cannot present us the specified data about recent market condition, this argument is not cogent

Secondly, based on the fact Saturnian discontinue the production of the alpaca coat, she thinks the main factor of stopping the manufacture of the clothes is difficulties in obtaining raw materials. However, there could be another example. For instance, the net profit could be low because of the incompetent marketing team or even, the low quality of manufactured goods. if this is true, her claim is not persuasive.

Finally, even if we admit other problematic assumptions are true, there is still a critical problem. She said that the price of most clothing is higher than five years ago, the customers would be willing to pay those higher prices. In infinitely competitive capitalism, however, the price will be changed. For example, If other companies participate in the competition, the supply will increase, then, the price should be decreased to have more competitiveness. Until the author explains why she thinks the price will keep up, we cannot be convinced by this argument.

In conclusion, the memo by the new vice president of sartorial is dubious as it stands. To make this argument more precise, the vice president has to show us the data about the similarity between the recent market condition and earlier and explain the exact reason the company had to halt the production line. To evaluate better, we have to know why she thinks the price will maintain in the future.