The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunny Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the shower-heads in the first three buildings of the Sunny Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunny Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying shower-heads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunny Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

<span style="font-size: 19.36px;">In this memo, the owner of Sunny towers apartment complex claim that modifying shower-heads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the apartment complex will increase their profit even more dramatically. To support her argument, she points out that changing shower-heads will obviously in much savings for Sunny Corporation, Also, there are few complaints about these changes from the residents. Careful scrutiny reveals that this argument has several logical flaws.

First, the owner hastily assumes that the few complaints from residents actually mean that most of them don't have dissatisfaction. Common sense tells us, however, most people follow the social way that doesn't show inner thought.

In this case, although they have complaints about lower water flow, they would not reveal their minds. If this is true, we can not be convinced by her argument.

Second, based on the fact which is not certain, the owner assumes that the amount of using water will decrease. Actually, the lower flow does not mean lower usage of water. For example, lower water flow per certain time can increase the time of taking a shower. As a result, the last amount of water used during taking a shower once is the same as before. If the owner cannot present us specified data that changing shower-heads actually decrease the amount of water used, this argument is not cogent

Finally, if we admit other problematic assumptions are true, there is still another questionable problem. Even if few people have complaints, because social networking service or internet based blog is common in modern society, they can write articles about the shortcoming of this apartment on the Internet. These articles could affect the value of apartment and cause for potential residents to cancel their contracts with the corporation. As a result, the apartment complex's profit will decrease. Until the owner suggests his remedy for these possibilities, this argument is still controversial.

To summarize, this argument is dubious as it stands. To make her claim more persuasive, she has to survey the real degree of dissatisfaction which the residents have and show us data about the different amount of water usage before and after. To rate better, we have to be given a resolve for the possibilities that the drawbacks of this apartment complex have gossiped decrease final profit of the corporation.</span><br>