The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this argument, the faculty committee of seatown university claims that the school has to institute a free-tuition policy for its professors to hire new professors and give encouragement to original faculties. To justify their argument, they cite a study which was conducted in a nearby university, Oceania university, which indicated that faculty retention is high in the school when professors are given free tuition at the university for their college-aged children. careful scrutiny reveals that this argument has several logical flaws.

First, based on the study, the author reason that the reason of high retention in another school is the policy. However, that could not be true. For example, the wage of oceanic University's professors could be higher than average or newly constructed buildings and income facilities could be acted as attractiveness. if this is true, we cannot be convinced by this argument.

Second, based only the study, they think the only option for raising the rate of retention in Seatown university is the policy. Common sense tells us that there are many things to attract high quality professors to a school. For example, funding their researches with their budget or constructing new buildings which are specified in a specific field or high wage. Until she shows there is no way to attract future professors, this argument is not proper

Finally, even if other problems are true, there is another problem. The author thinks the situation of the two schools are similar and the trait of faculties of the two schools are similar. if the state of the budget is Seatown schools is worse than oceanic university, the policy could lead the school to bankrupt or if professors of the school or future professors don't have interest in free-tuition, the policy will be not effective. if they cannot explain why they think the situations of the two schools are similar, this argument is not cogent.

careful scrutiny reveals that this argument is still dubious as it stands. To make this argument more persuasive, the faculty committee of the Seatown university have to explain that there are no alternative options for the purpose and why they think there is causality between the policy and high retention in oceanic university. To make better, we have to know why the authors think that the two universities are in similar situations.