Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Stating that even Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their state, even if the areas could be developed for economic gain, this view claims that a nation should more importantly consider give natural inheritance to descendant rather than factorial success. In some senses, it is true that we must keep the ecosystem. In my opinion, however, considring a poor countries and the land is a private property it is proper legistlation

Of course, few would disagree that the government have to preserve the nature. Many animal and plant species have been killed by human activity and development of the area to some degree which the mother nature can recover herself. For example, the rate of extinction of species has been accelerated by using fossil energy. This rate is uncommonly fast comparing with naturally occurred extinction in history of the Earth. This implies that our governments have duty for protecting our homeland.

However, it does not always mean that the absolute protection policy is always better than developing wilderness areas. In the poorest countries over the world, the governments cannot improve their economy state without destroing their forest. For example, in 1960s, Korea was one of the poorest countries in the world. The government decided to develop forests and built factories to enhance the industry. As a result, Korea become a nation which was ranked as 10th by GDP nowadays. This implies that forcing to preserve their nature to poor countries is short-sighted

Moreover, in a circumstance which the land is a private property, limiting use of the land transgresses the basic characteristic of democracy and capitalism. There is no right for governments to restrict an individual's economic activity, even if the state make compensation for the limit, the value is could be lower than its real value when it sold or developed. This shows that the using of the individual's property is up to one's decision not government, even if the property is the natural environment.

To summarize, preserving the nature is one of the central roles of the governments. In terms of improving standard of living in poor nation or basic spirit of democracy and capitalism about one's property, however, to limit development of using the lands is not proper and superfluous activity for government.