Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speakers or reformer ever could

Saying that scandals are useful for focusing our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could, this view claims that scandals are useful for making our society better. In many ways, it is hard to deny that a society could progress better through such problematic issues. In my opinion, however, scandalous headlines are harmful to changing and reforming our society rather than beneficial for our society.

Of course, no one could deny that scandals have a positive effect on solving problems. When it comes to explosive attention to certain problems such as global warming, waste and low efficiency of using government budget, or politicians’ transgression of a law. For example, in Korea, one media broadcasted news about the abysmal service environment of firefighters. That news made people of Korean burn with rage about the incompetence of the government. Then, the Congress hastily made a law for improving service environment of firefighters. This implies that a scandal could make a better society.

Nevertheless, this does not necessarily mean that every scandal makes our attention focus on social problems. We are living in so-called ‘the age of information’, so there is a lot of news including scandals in a day. This trait of our time makes us blind to more important issues. To make more profit, media companies elicit provocative headlines to attract more people. As a result, people click more stimulating pieces of news which are not good for society but achieving only fun than politically, socially more important issues. This implies that provocative issues always doesn’t make a good result

Furthermore, a scandal can make a society regress rather than progress. When it comes to the issues which are very controversial, it generates a wasting feud among the composers of a society, especially when the two parties are very differentiated and they cannot compromise about the issue. For example, in Korea, there was a case that feminists argued as a misogyny hate crime. So most of the media covered the case telling that sexism is pervasive in Korea society. It caused an extremely hot debate between men and women. In fact, it was not a misogyny crime according to police. So, mans began to condemn women. Although the scandal made the debate about sexism in Korea, it failed to make a change in Korea. Even it generated more hostility between man and women. This also implies that a scandal always could develop any society

To sum, in spite of, general validity of positive effect of scandals to a society, in terms of issues which are very controversial or trait of mass media, scandals do not always good to society. Taken together, I cannot fully agree that scandals could affect society as a positive factor. Only by ignoring the role of stimulating or very contentious issues, one could accept the notion about scandals