Some people believe that in order to thrive, a society must put its own overall success before the well-being of its individual citizens. Others believe that the well-being of a society can only be measured by the general welfare of all its people.

Stating that some a society must put its own overall success before the well-being of its individual citizens in order to thrive, this view asserts that happiness of general people is less weight than success of a society. In some senses, it is true that because there are many diverse people in a society, considering all people can be an obstacle for thrive of a society. In my point of view, however, considering historical examples and general thought of a society, we cannot say that only overall success of a society could not be a real thriving

Of course, few would disagree that sacrifice of general people is indispensable with thriving of a society. When it comes to development of capitalism and industrial revolution, although general people were hard because of tremendous amount of working, the economic size and GDP increasingly exploded. For example, as we can see many historical records and literature, many people suffered from hard working and long work time. However, nations, especially Western nations which grilled workers could proceed Eastern and Middle Nations, and these gave chance dominate all world. This shows that with only ignoring request of general people, our society can be greater than before.

However, can we always say that general citizens are ignoble? My answer is no. Considering that there are many historical examples which general people revolutionized whole society because of low quality of life, famine, dissatisfaction for government, it is better to respect opinion of people for ultimate development of a society. For example, Jin dynasty in Chinese history, government overly exploited people's work force and women to make emperor satisfactory. But after few years, the nation was conquered by rebels. This shows that why happiness of general people could be important.

Moreover, considering that, in war, people who fight against enemy is general people not but officers or abundant people, if people are not satisfactory or, even, having dissatisfaction to their own society, no one could have loyalty for the country or will to fight against enemy, it could make a country which don't consider general people's well being a colony of other nations. These shows that there is another thing to think when we are talking about thriving of a society.

To summarize, many people would agree that we can achieve thriving of a society without considering life of general people. However, considering importance of people's happiness in history and crisis of a society, only foolish people would agree that overall success is necessary-sufficient condition of thriving of a society