The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Santee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marley, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marley students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Santee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marley students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Santee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

In this argument, the author claims that teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week to raise students' grade of math and science. To support her argument, the author cited a survey which indicates that the teachers of Santee give daily homework to students and teachers of Marley give homework to students two or three days per week. Although students of Santee are given more homework than of Marley, their grades are lower than students of Marley, also, they are more likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are student in Santee. And she assumes this result shows that usefulness of homework is doubtful and Santee students focus for longer time on their homework than Marley students. This argument seems plausible first, however, careful scrutiny reveals that this argument has several logical problems.

To begin with, based on the fact that the students of Marley get lower grade than students of Santee, she assumes that comparing grades of students from two different school is reasonable. However, although absolute grade of Marley students is lower than Santee students, relative grade of Marley could be higher than Santee students. For example, if average ability for science and math is higher in school of Marley than school of Santee, a student who get A in math and science class in Santee could get B or C in Marley. If this is true, we cannot be convinced by this argument.

Secondly, based on the fact that the student of Marley are more likely to repeat a year than students of Santee, the author assumes that repeating a year can show a student's scholar achievement in math and science. However, that cannot be proper indicator of ability of a student. Common sense tells us that, when school committee decides to make a student repeat a year, there are many elements not only grade of math and science but also other class or school life. If the author cannot rule out this problem, this argument has no ground.

Finally,even if we admit other problems are true, there is another critical problem. Based on the fact that students of Sanlee are given less homework than students of Marlee, the author assumes that the number of homework per week is positively related to amounts of time when students do homework. However, the amount of homework could not be related to time for focusing on study. Generally speaking, deciding how much times is to be used for studying depends on one's will, not amount of homework and amount of time used for studying cannot guarantee raise of ability for science and math or grade. If she cannot explain why she thinks less homework are given to students, higher achievement will come out, this argument is not cogent.

To summarize, this argument is still dubious as it stands. To make this argument more persuasive, the author has to comparing grade for science and math of students with absolute criterion such as same test choice and question and has to give additional information which indicates that real reason why students of Marlee more frequently repeat a year. To evaluate better, we have to know proper evidence about positive relation between amount of homework and time used for studying.