The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Bugs Company, which we have used for many years in Palm City, continued to service our warehouse in Winterville, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Bugs for all our pest control services."

In this memo, the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities claims that to reduce loss by pest in storage warehouse in palm city, the company have to contract with Bugs company rather than Fly-Away company. To support her argument, she reports that the loss of warehouses in the Palm city by pest last year was over $20,000, in contrast, loss at warehouse which is serviced by the Bugs company in Winterville by pest was only $10,000. This seems plausible first, however, careful scrutiny reveals that this argument has several logical flaws.

To begin with, based on the fact that the larger loss occurred in the warehouse which is serviced by Fly-Away company than the warehouse which is serviced by another company, she hastily assumes that "absolute" comparison of price of loss in each company is reasonable. However, it could not be. For example, if the overall amount of storage in the warehouse at Palm city is much larger than twice as worthy as worth of food in the warehouse at Winterville, the worth of food loss per specific amount of food of the warehouse at Winterville is bigger than the warehouse at Palm city. If this is true, we cannot be convinced by this argument.

Secondly, even if we admit that the direct comparison of the damage is not unreasonable, the author the difference in amount of loss at each warehouse is because of difference in ability of two companies to prevent pest However, the report of last year could be uncommon case. For example, in last year, if specific species of pest occurred uncommonly in the area of Palm city, and do not occur this year, there is no guarantee that the damage to the food storage in the warehouse at Palm city is bigger than warehouse of Winterville city. Until she rule out this problem, this argument is groundless.

Finally, even if we admit other problems are true, there is another critical problem. the author presumes that the conditions of warehouse in Palm city is similar, even same, with the conditions of warehouse in Winterville city. However, there could be differences in each warehouse. For example, warehouse in Palm city could have harder structure to prevent pest or could store kinds of food which are more vulnerable to pest. If she cannot explain the Bugs company will also better than Fly-Away company in preventing pest at Palm city, this argument is not cogent.

To summarize, this argument is still dubious as it stands. To make this argument more persuasive, the vice president of food storage company have to explain why she thinks the report of price of loss at each warehouses results from the ability of two companies and has to specific data about relative worth of food loss by pest per overall amount of storage. To evaluate better, we have to know that the two warehouses are similar in several factors which can decide the possibility of occurrence of pest.