The following appeared as an editorial in the student newspaper of Groveton College.

"To combat the recently reported dramatic rise in cheating among college students, colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced an old-fashioned system in which teachers closely monitored students. Under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. The honor code has proven far more successful: in the first year it was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey conducted by the Groveton honor council, a majority of students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without."

In this newspaper of Groveton college, the author claims that colleges and universities should accept honor codes similar to Groveton's, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their class and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that other have cheated to decrease cheating among students. To support her argument, she says that the number of cheating reported by teachers in the old-styled honor code in which teachers monitor students to new style code. But after changing from the old style honor code, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating at first year and, then, the number of reported cheating decreased to fourteen 5 years later. Also, she cites a recent survey which indicates that a majority of student would be less likely to cheat with the new code. It seems plausible first, however, careful scrutiny reveals that this argument has several logical flaws.

To begin with, based on the fact that the number of cheating reported decreased after implementing the new code, she assumes that the reason of decreased number of cheating reported is because of the new code. However, the new code would not really affect decreased number. For example, if the students of Groveton college have respectively different degree of morality at the specific period - before the code, at the first year when the code was implemented and 5 years later the code was implemented and the degree of morality have gotten better as time passed, the code could not be important of cause of decreased reported cheating. If this is true, we cannot be convinced by this argument.

Second, even if we admit the code affect the occurrence of cheating, based on the fact that the number of cheating reported has been decreased after the code was introduced, she hastily assumes that that decrease is substantial. However, those decreased number could not be meaningful. For example, although the number of cheating has been decreased by 14 after the code was introduced, the number of overall students has decreased. If she cannot rule out this problem, this argument has no ground.

Finally, even if we admit other problems are true, there is another problem. Based on the fact that the new styled code have been effective in Graventon college, the author presumes that the new-styled code will also have same effect on decreasing cheating of student. However, the effect of new-styled code could not be applied to other schools. Common sense tells us that each school has different characteristic of students such as race, morality, culture, point of view. If she cannot explain why she thinks the new style code will be also helpful for other schools to decrease cheating, this argument is not cogent.

To summarize, this argument is still dubious as it stands. To make this argument more persuasive, the author has to explain that the real reason of decreased number of cheating reported is because of the new styled code and has to give additional data about the number of cheating per student which shows 'actually' the cheating decreased. To evaluate better, we have to know that why she thinks conditions of other schools are similar or same with Greventon school.