The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

Stating that the main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times, the author asserts that we can get realization about similarity between our ancestors and present people and this similarity can give chance to learn from history. In some senses, it is true that, human history, approximately 0.7million years, are too short for our nature, body, characteristic to be changed. In my point of view, however, considering that human being is largely affected by developed technology and culture or politic system, it is proper to say that there are deep between us contemporary people and previous people.

Of course, few would disagree that we are included a species Homo sapiens sapiens. Considering that basic desires of people is not changeable and have been continued since human history began, comparing with our life and their life and getting some lessons seems reasonable. For example, whether a woman wears clothes made from unrefined animal leather or wears artificial leather jacket, she wants to eliminate hungry and marry good man and raise cute children well. This shows that we originally have similar nature whether we are in modern society or in ancient society.

However, can we always say that modern people are absolutely same with people who live without technology? My answer is no. Considering that technology is pervaded in every parts of our life, we cannot say that the slow life style and lessons of that time cannot be fully applied to modern technology based society. For example, there have been many wars in human history and many generals have made their own tactics and teach them to next generations. At that time, soldiers fight with enemies with sword hand-to-hand, otherwise, in modern society, we can even eliminate a country from map with pushing one button. This shows that we cannot fully understand previous people.

Moreover, considering that our thought come from not only our own nature but media, culture and political system, we could be totally different from our previous generations. For example, political system of ancient nations were based on kingdom and empire or partial democracy and their leader was inherited following a royal blood. However, most of modern country are democratic and their leader are elected by general citizens. Then, can people who lived in kingdom can elect their leader with their own hands and understand these political systems?

To summarize, most people would agree that there are lots of common things in contemporary people and previous people. Considering that, however, technological and political development has changed tremendously our life and make some differences in us, only foolish people would claims that history can completely reflect our modern life, and reverse is also same.