The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of Bargain Brand Cereals. (152)

"One year ago we introduced our first product, Bargain Brand breakfast cereal. Our very low prices quickly drew many customers away from the top-selling cereal companies. Although the companies producing the top brands have since tried to compete with us by lowering their prices and although several plans to introduce their own budget brands, not once have we needed to raise our prices to continue making a profit. Given our success in selling cereal, we recommend that Bargain Brand now expand its business and begin marketing other low-priced food products as quickly as possible."

In this memo, the board of directors of Bargain Brands Cereals claims that the Bargain Brands Cereals have to expand its business and begin marketing other low priced food products as quickly as possible. To support their claims, they say that low priced its product had big popularity in the cereal market and drew many customers of top-selling cereal companies. And they reason that although competing company have used some strategies, such as lowering prices and introducing their own budget brands, the Bargain Brands Cereals do not have to raise their prices. Careful scrutiny reveals that this argument has several logical flaws.

To begin with, based on the last year’s success, they think that the popularity will maintain in the future. Common sense tells us that almost product which is newly coming is popular during the short term because of customers’ curiosity. In that, people tend to purchase a new product to evaluate and to decide whether they change their spending pattern. If the product is good, they will change their pattern, or not, they don’t. If she cannot explain why she thinks the high profit of the product will continue, we cannot be convinced by this argument

Secondly, l based on the fact that the Bargain Brands Cereals’ product was popular in the cereal market last year, she hastily assumes that the cause of success is low prices. The success could not be occurred by proper price. For example, the good composition of the cereal may affect its success or good marketing strategy of the company could attract many customers. If this is true, this argument is still not cogent.

Finally, even if we concede that other problems are true, there is another problem. Based on the fact that the cereal succeeded last year, these strategies can lead other products to other success. However, there is no such guarantee that the other product can also get popularity in the market. For example, even if, when people evaluated the cereal, the low price has precedence over other conditions, people may assess other products with other norms. They may think other product’s advantages to health is the most important factor.

To summarize, this argument is still dubious as it stands. To make this memo more persuasive, the board of directors has to explain why they think the main cause of the success of the cereal is price and have to the market condition will be same in the future. To evaluate better, we must know market survey about people’s most important considerations when they purchase other product of the Bargain Brands Cereals