In any profession—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Stating that those in power should be required to step down after five years, this view asserts that fixed power is harmful to an advance of a field. In some senses, it is true that unchanging situations bring about the regression of an organization and decaying. In my point, however, considering that there is no such guarantee whether next leader is competent like the previous leader and historical examples that a nation was divided after death a charismatic king, it is proper that maintenance of power is helpful for the prosperity of a group.

Of course, it is undeniable that the regular change of leader is safer and can give fuel to revitalize an organization. When it comes to most humans’ characteristic that tends to be sluggish when circumstances are safe and stable, regular change can make chances for people to try hard. For example, in many sports teams, after big success in competition and league, we can see the players and the coach and staffs tend to stay a previous success and think they can achieve the same glory in present competition without any effort and progress. However, these thoughts lead to the terrible result in competition, as a result, the board of directors of the team decides to change the coach or to bring new players by selling old players. These decisions make better results in the next year. This implies that bold decision may need for more progress and the great achievement of an organization.

Nonetheless, can we always say that every change makes better situations and lead other glories? My answer is definitely no. In human history, we can see many kingdoms and empires divided into many small nations or even destroyed after only a king or an emperor’s death. For example, the Great Alexander constructed an empire whose territory is 4th biggest in human history. However, after his sudden death, his empire is divided by his generals into 5 smaller kingdoms. And those kingdoms had disappeared in the flow of human history. Of course, we cannot say that if he didn’t die, his kingdom would be more continuous than those small countries, but he would rule better than his generals. The bottom line is that stepping down of a great leader could lead to more bad situations before.

Moreover, if the next leader is not proper and competent as the previous leader, the organization will walk on the way of omens of ruins. For example, few years after the board of directors of Apple driven out Steve Jobs, the founder of Apple, in CEO, the apple had the crisis of bankrupt and finally they decided to give more authority to him again. And Apple’s heyday happened in the time when he was CEO, and this glory went on until he died. After his death, Apple’s previous glory left, but its fame is less than before. This implies how important the existence and duration of a great leader in a group is.

To summarize, many people would disagree that decaying of an organization comes from decaying of powers without changes. However, considering the historical examples and impact of changing capable and talented a leader in a field together, it is dangerous to regularly change the leader to prevent side-effect of continuity of power which we don’t know whether it will occur or not. Only ignoring these examples, people would say that changes in an organization always lead to new glory and success