Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

Stating that scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people, there is a responsibility for scientist to give advantages to general people's life. In some sense, it is true. In my point, however, considering that the possibility that many great scientific achievement come from researches which many contemporary people disregard and many basic researches which were not beneficial at that time are used as very beneficial resources.

Of course, no one can disagree that final purpose of science is making people's life more comfortable and more abundant. Considering the fact that fund for researches generally come from the government's budget which are composed of people's tax, it is sure that researches have to make achievement which can pervade in people's routine life, in that, can provide big comfort. For example, in biological science field, many governments have invested large amount of budget in medicine or researches which are related to curing cancers. AS a result, many biologist have developed new medicine or known about cancer.

However, can we say all scientist focus on only researches which can give large benefit at the present time? My answer is definitely no. In history of science, we can see many cases which looks like small or first and give good things later. For example, in medical field, a doctor claimed that doctors should clean their hands before they start operation. Many doctors laughed at his claim at that time. However, few decades later, existence of germ was known and cleaning doctors' hands had become basic process of operations and it can save many patients' life

Moreover, considering that knowing basic knowledge about our world can give other people chance to make other researches that can give economical benefit. For example, taxonomical researches look like not useful. However, if a good chemical is discovered in a species and the species is very rare and difficult to raise, people would think close species would have the good chemical. But, if we don’t know related species because of shortage of taxonomical knowledge, we have to raise the species with high cost or even we cannot use the good chemical.

To summarize, many people would think that researches have to be rated with their present possibility. However, considering that there have been many historical examples which show that disregarded researches can help many people and many instances which indicates that basic study of our world is very important, it would not right to force for scientist to focus on practical researches. Only foolish people would agree with the thought that world of science works with only beneficial researches.