The citizens of London have adopted more healthful lifestyles. Their responses to a recent survey show that in their eating habits they conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. Furthermore, there has been a fourfold increase in sales of food products containing carbohydrate, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol. This trend is also evident in reduced sales of fat, a food that few of the healthiest citizens regularly eat.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted

In this argument, the author claims that the citizens of London have adopted more healthful lifestyles. To support her argument, she cites a survey which shows their eating habit observing more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did then years ago. Also, she says there has been a fourfold increase in sales of food which contains carbohydrate proved to reduce cholesterol and there has been reduce of buying of food which contain fat. This argument seems plausible first, however, careful scrutiny reveals that this argument has several logical problems.

To begin with, based on the survey which indicate the respondents' eating habit follows government nutritional recommendation well than ten years ago, the author assumes that the respondents of the survey can be representative all people of London. However, the people who reply the survey cannot be generalized. Common sense tells us that the people who reply those kinds of survey have big interest in health or have tendency to follow the recommendations. If this is true, we cannot be convinced by this argument.

Secondly, even if we admit that the respondents of the survey is general people in the city based on the same fact which I mentioned just above paragraph, she assumes that following the recommendations is healthy life styles. However, the recommendation could be harmful in some cases. For example, many people have their own body trait and life styles. So their weight, rate of metabolism, amount of hormone, amount of exercise is different according to each person. Because of these differences, following the recommendation can downplay one's health. If she cannot rule out this problem, this argument is not cogent.

Thirdly, even if we admit other problems are true, there is another problem. Based on the fact that the selling of the food products which contain carbohydrates have increased four-times, she presumes that food which contains carbohydrate whose effect is reducing cholesterol has similar function with the substance. However, it could not be true. For example, there are many foods which are advertised to have beneficial substances for health. Among them, however, few would work helpfully to health. Until why she thinks the food have same function with carbohydrate, this argument has no ground.

To summarize, this argument is still dubious as it stands. To make this argument more persuasive, the author has to explain why she thinks the recommendation could be applied for all citizens of London and must give additional information which shows that we can consider the respondents of the survey as common case in the city. We have to know that the food beneficially work for health as similar as the original substance, carbohydrate to evaluate this argument better.