There is now evidence that the relaxed pace of life in small towns promotes better health and greater longevity than does the hectic pace of life in big cities. Businesses in the small town of Leeville report fewer days of sick leave taken by individual workers than do businesses in the nearby large city of Masonton. Furthermore, Leeville has only one physician for its one thousand residents, but in Masonton the proportion of physicians to residents is five times as high. Finally, the average age of Leeville residents is significantly higher than that of Masonton residents. These findings suggest that people seeking longer and healthier lives should consider moving to small communities.

In this argument, the author claims that people should live in small towns to promotes better health and greater longevity rather than living in large town. To support her argument, she cites a report that shows that surveys the people of two companies, which one is in small town, Leesville and another is large town Manton. The reports shows that employees in Leesville is absent for the company less than employees of Manton do and fewer physicians need in the Leesville than Manton per a person. Also it indicated that the average age of the employees of Leesville is higher than employees of Manton. Careful scrutiny reveals that this argument has several logical problems.

To begin with, based on the fact the number of physicians per person in Leesville is lower than in Manton, the author presumes that the right indicator of health state and reversely think tha cause and effect. However it could not be true. Common sense tells us that smaller the size of the town is, smaller the size of population is. If she cannot explain why the health state of a population can be rated by the number of physicians in the region, this argument is not cogent

Secondly, based on the fact that the average age of the people of small town is higher than the people of large town, she wrongly assumes that the higher average age of the people is because of living in undeveloped region. However, it could not be true. For example, the company in Leesville could prefer to hire older people than younger people, or the company could not have hired new people for long time. If this is true we cannot be convinced by this argument.

Finally, even if we admit the fact that the average age of the company in Leesville is higher than of people in Manton is because of living in small town, there is another problem. Based on the fact that the number of being absent for people of Leesville is lower than manton, she wrongly assumes that the number of absence for work place can be an indicator of health state. However, it could not a right indicator. For example, if the people of Leesville are forced not to be absent by the company's atmosphere and they were given higher disadvantage for promotion than Manton, of course, they do not want to go to hospital. Until the author rule out this problem, this argument is groundless.

To summarize, this argument is dubious as it stands. To make this argument more persuasive, the author have to prove living in small region can affect people's health and longevity and have to explain the rightness of rating people's health by the number of physicians in the area. To evaluate better, we have to know that the number of absence of the people in a company can show people's health