Milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium—substances essential for building and maintaining bones. Many people therefore say that a diet rich in dairy products can help prevent osteoporosis, a disease that is linked to both environmental and genetic factors and that causes the bones to weaken significantly with age. But a long-term study of a large number of people found that those who consistently consumed dairy products throughout the years of the study have a higher rate of bone fractures than any other participants in the study. Since bone fractures are symptomatic of osteoporosis, this study result shows that a diet rich in dairy products may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis.

In this argument, the author claims that a diet rich in dairy products may actually increase,, rather than decrease the risk of osteoporosis. To support her argument, she points out that vitamin D and calcium are rich in mike and dairy products and the commonly accepted belief that these kinds of food can help prevent osteoporosis. Also, she cites the recent study about the effect of dairy diet against for the common belief. Careful scrutiny reveals that this argument has several logical flaws.

To begin with, the author hastily assumes that commonly accepted concept about the beneficial effect of dairy foods is reliable. Common sense tells us that there are many factors that affect the occurrence of a disease. For example, genetic factors, other materials which are not contained in dairy products or the amount of muscle or even, other kinds of foods. Until she explains why she thinks the eating calcium and vitamin D through dairy foods is the main factor to prevent the disease, we cannot be convinced by this argument.

Secondly, based on the study, the author assumes that the people who participated in the study can typify common people. There is no such guarantee that the people are almost same with other people who didn't participate in the study. For example, the participants could have different lifestyles with other people or could have different genetic traits. If she cannot explain the reason why she thinks the participants could represent other people, this argument is still not cogent

Finally, if we admit that other problematic assumptions are true, there are still a lethargic problem. The high rate of a bone fracture could not be related to high consumption of dairy foods. For example, people who have the high incidence of the bone fracture could genetically have weak bones or could not genetically intake calcium and vitamin D in milk or even, people who participated in the study could have a bone fracture because of random accidents like car accidents. IF this is true, this argument is not proper.

In conclusion, this argument is dubious as it stands. To make this argument more persuasive, the author have to explain why she thinks the participants are similar with other people who didn't participate in the research and why she thinks the main factor of the disease is calcium and vitamin D. To evaluate better, we must know that exact relation of a bone fracture and the high consumption of dairy foods