The following appeared in an e-mail sent by the marketing director of the Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville.

"Over the past ten years, there has been a 20 percent decline in the size of the average audience at Classical Shakespeare Theater productions. In spite of increased advertising, we are attracting fewer and fewer people to our shows, causing our profits to decrease significantly. We must take action to attract new audience members. The best way to do so is by instituting a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program this summer. Two years ago the nearby Avon Repertory Company started a 'Free Plays in the Park' program, and its profits have increased 10 percent since then. If we start a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program, we can predict that our profits will increase, too."

In this e-mail message, the marketing director of the Classical Shakespeare Theatre (CST) recommends that the theatre should launch a “Shakespeare in the Park” program, which is similar to a “Free Plays in the Park” program conducted by the nearby Avon Repertory Company (ARC), instead of relying on the traditional advertising in order to reverse its declining audience and profit. To support this recommendation, the director points out that (1) CST, despite the increasing advertising, has experienced the continuous declines in the audience and profit over the past ten years, and that (2) ARC has succeeded in increasing its profit since it started the free play program two years ago. This argument lacks critical information to support the whole course of reasoning, and is questionable as it stands.

First, with regard to the effectiveness of the present advertising, the director hastily assumes that it is almost futile simply because CST has had less audience and profit even with the advertising. However, it is unclear that the advertising was ineffective. In fact, it is possible that the size of the decline in the number of audience might have been greater than the average 10 percent if it had not been for the advertising. Without clearer information about the impact of the traditional advertising, we cannot properly evaluate the argument’s claim that CST should discontinue the present advertising and shift to a new marketing technique.

Second, with regard to the utility of the free play in the park, the director also assumes that the increase in profit of Avon can be explained solely by the launch of the “Free Play in the Park” program, resting only on the fact that the increase comes after the program. Although this might be true, the actual cause of the increase may reside in other factors. Perhaps, a wise selection of genres and works or the newly renovated theatre building can explain the increase of audience. Without eliminating this possibility, this recommendation is still dubious.

Thirdly, even conceding that the free program contributed to the increase to some degree, this recommendation is also problematic in that it assumes the former is essential to the latter. However, there could be lots of other theatres which successfully increase their profits even without implementing such free marketing programs.

Finally, this recommendation also relies on the assumption that CST is similar to ARC in their respective management conditions with which they can run the free programs. However, unlike ARC, CST might lack the sufficient financial resource to continue the costly free play program for a long time. Without providing information that the two theatres are comparable each other in this aspect, the recommendation cannot convince us.