The following appeared in an e-mail sent by the marketing director of the Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville."Over the past ten years, there has been a 20 percent decline in the size of the average audience at Classical Shakespeare Theatre product

In this letter, the marketing director aruges that the Classical Shakespeare Threatre of Bardville should start a "Shakespeare in the park" program this summer in order to attract more new audience members, in that the Avon Repetory Company made a scuccess by doing so which brought them 10 percent benefits increased. As the atuhors worries the theatre is facing a serious drop of the profits even they advertised more than before, the author's assumption that the Classical Shakespeare Theatre would have more profits is not convicing. More evidence are required and there are some loopholes in this letter, we need to reexamine them carefully.

To begin with, there was no clear reason to show us why there was a decline of the audience's number. Maybe the local people do not like the plays of Shakespeare anymore,or possibly, the audience nowadays feel like watching the plays online instead of going to the theatre. Thus even if the company starts the program like Avon Repertory Compay did, the result may be totally different as the insuficient audicence who would like to go to the park to watch the play, even sometimes the play on the cellphone could meet their demands. Moreover, the reason of the fewer and fewer profits of the theatre is still in question. In that maybe the expense of advertisement was so high that it broke the balance between the income and payment of the company. Also, the appearance of the advertisements are not mentioned be the author, thus we could not evaluate the effect of the advertisements.

In addtion, the successful experince of the other company may not be suitable for the Classical Shakespeare Theatre of the Bardville. In that the director does not tell us what did the Avon Repertory Company mainly run for, we could not evaluate the perfomance of the plays of Shakespeare in the park. Possibly , the Avon Repertory Company generally run the modern plays rather than the classica ones, the difference is huge enough to incur different results. If the Shakespeare's play were started in the park, the company may not gain the profits like the Avon company did before.

Finally, there are some problems about the dates.Firstly, whether the ten-year declining of audience not abnormal is still in question, maybe it is the fact that the population in the bardville were fewer than before, thus the audience number declined. In this situation, the directors' suggestion would not be feasible as there were fewer people already. Secondly, as we are looking at the perfomance of the Avon Repertory Company which seemed to be so good, we should know it was the story of two years ago, thus how did they do in these two years was not mentioned by the author.

In coclusion, the author's arugements is not convincing.