TPO 34: Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on cell phones, online games, and social networking Web site.

I totally do not agree with that the children's education task is more difficult in that they spend excessive time on cell phones, online games and social networking Web sites. As my concern, teaching children is more difficult while the reasons mentioned were not convincing in that the development of the society never stops, there are different kinds of entertainments for every young generaion , also the competitions becomes more violent due to the rapid changing world. I will address my views with three points.

To begin with, the entertainments is not the excuse of the toughness in teaching children. From my grandfather to me, all of our ways of palying are obviously distinct. My grandfather born in the war time, thus the memory of his childhood was just the hiding from the enemies in that they were inocent residetns in the villiage, a wood stick to play with would have brought lots of fun to him for a long while. My father, he rasied pigeons for fun while it is impossible for me to feed these birds in the city. For me, I started to play video games when I was in primary schools. While all of the entertainments was not the reasons for the difficluty in teachin children. Children in different time could be attracted by various playing things in their times. When discussing with the cell phones , online games or social networking Web sties, they happen to be the symbol of children's entertainments now.

In additon, the more violent competion is one of the main reasons for the difficulty in cultivating children. As there are great changes in this society, almost evething has developed in their own way with an unimaginable speed, thus the children have to adapt to the society in the future, the more difficult course in a method for them when they are in a the new era with information explosion at the same time. When I read my cousin's math book of eight grades last year, I was shocked that they began to learn some basic theory of Calculation that I learned in my university. Times are changing, so does the pace of learning. If the child does not want to be striken out, he/she has to study harder.

Finally, we should not consider the new technology would be harmful to the new generation. Once the online games was seriously criticized in that they attracted many children to play who almost forgot the time of palying. Thus the online game was called electronic opium. However, some young people earn money from playing online games. As for me , I do not want to encourage the children to play games for money in that I do appriciate the imporatnce of studying. If new technology is used in a proper way, they would help children in many ways. The cell phones with dictionaries would be the tools for studying foreign language, the online games would relax the children, also new social tools like social Web sites would let the children make more friends.