An ancient, traditional remedy for insomnia—the scent of lavender flowers—has now been proved effective. In a recent study, 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where their sleep was monitored electronically. During the first week, volunteers continued to take their usual sleeping medication. They slept soundly but wakened feeling tired. At the beginning of the second week, the volunteers discontinued their sleeping medication. During that week, they slept less soundly than the previous week and felt even more tired. During the third week, the volunteers slept longer and more soundly than in the previous two weeks. Therefore, the study proves that lavender cures insomnia within a short period of time.

In this argument, the author claims that the scent of lavender flowers which is traditional remedy for insomnia is effective to cure of insomnia within a short period time. To support her argument, she cited a research which do experiment to 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia. According to the research, the patients sleep with the <span style="font-size: 19.36px;">scent of </span>lavender in a room with their usual sleeping medication. And they slept soundly but wakened feeling tired. At second week, they discontinued sleeping medication with continuing other conditions and they felt more tired. At last week, they slept longer and more soundly than previous two weeks. Careful scrutiny reveals that this argument has several logical flaws.

To begin with, based on the fact the patient make less sound than first week, the author assumes that this phenomenon is better state of patient, in that, it is most important symptom which can show the degree of insomnia. However, it could not be true. For example, feeling tired could be more important symptom of insomnia or other symptom such as brain wave or the rate of heartbeat could be more important. If this is true we cannot convinced by this argument.

Secondly, even if we admit that the degree of making sound is most indicative symptom of insomnia, there is another problem. Based on the fact that the patient make less sound at second week, the author hastily assumes that this state results from treatment of lavender scent. However, there is possibility that the result of second week is not because of the scent of lavender. For example, the discontinuing of their sleeping medication can be affect to the research or their higher tiredness at second week than first week could be reason. If she cannot explain why she thinks the scent of lavender works well on patient, this argument is still not cogent.

Finally, even if other logical problem is true, this argument still looks like groundless. Only based on the fact that making sound is less during two weeks, the author wrongly use the word, "cure". Common sense tells us that the word-cure-means that a disease totally vanish. But, at third week, the patients make more noise and have longer sleeping than before because of accumulated tiredness.

To summarize, this argument still dubious as it stands. To make this argument more persuasive, the author have to explain why she thinks that degree of making sound during sleeping can most indicate quality of sleeping and have to do experiment again by designating control group and experimental group which are difference in treatment of lavender. To rate this argument better, we have to know that why she thinks the lavender can cure the disease