An ancient, traditional remedy for insomnia—the scent of lavender flowers—has now been proved effective. In a recent study, 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where their sleep was monitored electronically. During the first week, volunteers continued to take their usual sleeping medication. They slept soundly but wakened feeling tired. At the beginning of the second week, the volunteers discontinued their sleeping medication. During that week, they slept less soundly than the previous week and felt even more tired. During the third week, the volunteers slept longer and more soundly than in the previous two weeks. Therefore, the study proves that lavender cures insomnia within a short period of time.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author contends that lavender is efficacious in treating insomnia. The author provides a reasoning to bolster his argument. But, I do not concur to the relation established by the author on lavender and insomnia, this contention can be refuted as there are certain flaws in the reasoning which are highlighted in subsequent paragraphs.

First and foremost, the author established the relationship only by taking into account a certain study which had mere 30 subjects. We cannot link lavender as a remedy for treating insomnia just because it was efficient in curing 30 subjects. This generalization is far-fetched and hence we cannot just conclude that lavender is efficacious in curing insomnia. it might be the case that the 30 subjects have less intense insomnia or were in early stages, or say their body responded well to lavender but this might not be the case with everyone. Some might have allergy of lavenders or there might be a case where patients might not respond well to lavender and instead lavender might exacerbate the condition.

Secondly, this was performed in a controlled environment, monitored by experts and hence the setup is in a way biased. If the medicine works in a controlled environment it is not necessary that it will work in outside natural environment. we never know what effects it might have when tested in outside world, it might or might not work. For eg- one cannot say he is a exemplary football player just because he is excellent in playing football video-game, he might not be good at all in the field. hence true mettle of this remedy can only be tested outside the laboratory parameters.

Thirdly, the volunteers had varied response, that is their condition plummeted initially and in second week reached to a critical point, it is possible that lavender is the reason behind the exacerbation. And coming to the point of improved results in third week it might be the controlled, and quite environment along with the care provided to them by experts themselves. Experts might have a positive influence on the subjects and this might have led them to overcome insomnia.

Summing up, one cannot generalize the effect of a medicine just by taking into account a qualified study. To prove the efficacy of the medicine it requires deep analysis and a study on a larger sample size. Also, the experiment should be performed in a natural environment and the patients/ volunteers considering for the experiment must be of varied age group and different areas. As this might be a factor in considering the efficacy. hence, the author have considered just one study and established a direct relationship between lavender and insomnia and this is the reason his contention is valid.