“Governments are justified in circumventing civil laws when doing so is vital to the protection of national security.”

Write an essay in which you take a position on the statement above. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true.

Countries all over the world are experiencing some or other sort of problems which they address through various methods. But, when there is a case of national emergency it calls for an extra precautionary steps to preclude any mishaps. The author contends that governments are allowed to breach civil laws when there is a case of national exigency. I generally agree to author's contention. However, to substantiate my point of view this essay will elaborate my reasons.

Firstly and foremost, if the government declares a country-wide alert then there must be some gargantuan issue. If the government thinks that there might be an internal conflict then to prevent such bicker which might worsen the situation can parry civil laws and take necessary actions. For example - like in India, when Hon. Prime Minister, Indira Gandhi was shot dead by 2 men belonging to particular caste, national emergency was declared and to prevent mob lynching or wide spread hatred of people against that caste people, government had withdrawn the autonomy to publish certain instigating articles.

Secondly, if there is a possibility that some endemic group of the country is involved with some foreign criminals who might with the help of this group exacerbate the situation, government can dodge civil laws and could invade their(group) privacy by tracking its every move. To clarify this point let us assume that there are few men have deep roots with mafias, now in a nation-wide exigency government can disable the internet and all communication tools in that areas like Whatsapp. This way they precluded the possible attack where a scoundrel through internal puppets could try to exacerbate the situation. Hence, if government believes that snatching away some rights like right to speak and form coalitions and right to privacy, they can stop the attack or prevent situation from getting worse, then they are absolutely allowed to do so.

Thirdly, we are forgetting that the rights or civil laws which the government is avoiding is just temporary. Like some rights such as right to privacy, is emphemeral and also applied to only few attack prone parts of the country.

Also, there might be a case where government might misuse its power, but this type of luxury to the government shall only be allowed to democratic governments and dictators should be deprived of such powers.

Concluding my aforementioned points, democratic government shall be allowed to enjoy such powers as it would be a decision not one man, but an entire fleet of intellectual people who with thorough scrutinization would use the power if necessary.