People's behaviour is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

The author of this letter contends that population of balmer island increases to about 0.1 million and because of this proliferation of population there might be a surge of accidents. hence, to reduce accidents the author proposed to reduce renting mopeds to 30 from 50. there are few flaws in his argument and due to this reason I disagree to his contention.

The first and foremost reason which I think weakens the argument is the author's unwarranted assumption that this scheme of limiting rental moped can reduce the number of accidents just like torseau island. there is no surety that this will also work for balmer if it worked for torseau island. hence, to evaluate this matter more evidence is needed. like the similarity between both the islands and many other factors.

Secondly, the author rules out any other possibility of accidents and establishes a direct relation between number of accidents and number of mopeds. there might be a case where due to stormy weather people are not able to control mopeds and are getting involved in accidents. hence, there can be multiple reason for moped accidents and one cannot simply rule out other possibilities.

there is no evidence that people who are coming at balmer island take this many mopeds. there might be a case where poeple are just coming to sit back and relax. To decrease the renting limit might not be that efficient as there is no evidence that all or most of the people indulge in renting mopeds. The projected number is just the renting limit of six companies. Its not an emperical data. also, there might be a case where people due to this increase in accidents might now avoid moped and choose to take a walk or rent a car.

Additionally, the author have ruled out the case where pedastrian might be the reason for these accidents. like pedestrians might not follow traffic rules and ramble around without any precaution and gets involved in accidents with moped drivers. there can also be other way around, like number of mopeds or pedestrian might not be the reason. The reason could be mopeds not following traffic rules and breaking the threshold speed limit and getting involved in accidents.

In sum, due to the aforementioned points author's contention is baseless and require further analysis. also, to grant this proposal author should provide more evidence. The author also makes too many unwarranted assumption which weakens his contention.