Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based

The author believes that in any field those in power shall step down after five years. The contention provided by the author is backed by the reason that the ultimate path to success for any enterprise is through change in leader. I disagree to this claim.

The issue addresses the need for change in any field of the leader whether it be education or business. There are several cases where this argument may not prove to be efficious.

In the realm of business or education, if we were to implement this in real world, it might lead to severe problems. first is, if the leader elected is having a vision he/she requires time to implement that vision and to efficiently deploy his strategy a mere time of five years might be insufficient. Also, the new leader elected might not concur with the idea of previous leader and might completely change the strategy leaving company employees in a Multintional Corporation or a students in schools in total chaos.

When it comes to politics, a change of leader in every five years may bring schisms in party internally and hence, lead to end of that party. What is leader? Leader is the one that guides rest of the people for a common cause, and if the leaders keep on changing than due to difference in ideologies, the members of the party might pulverise and form different groups withing a single party, that is, one group of members following an ideology of the previous leader and second group in which the members follow the ideology of current leader.

But when it comes to government, it might be a game changer, as if we keep on electing same and same government, it might create a situation where leader feels he is invincible. For example- the case of north korea's leader he feels he is invincible and does whatever he wants, and due to this insurgence of this self- centric idiosyncrasy he doesn't think of his fellow country men and only does what quenches his thrust for power.

In sum, the generalization for every enterprise is not apposite. Also, the author's rigidity in time allocation might bring out the opposite result.