Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The author claim's that many problems of modern society cannot be solved by the laws and the legal system and to substantiate his claim author maintains that laws cannot change what is in people's hearts and minds.I agree to author's claim but the reason given by the author seems inapposite.

First and foremost thing one should consider while analysing this claim is that the laws are made by the people of the society. Although laws are there to protect a person from injustice but, many a times it has been noted that laws are not able to give justice. It is because law makers are a part of society and they cannot be totally dispassionate even if they wanted to. This introduces some biasness and hence makes law less able. For example - in Saudi Arabia, women are not allowed to drive, this is in their constitution. Now if the women even tries to solve this issue by law they would certainly fail. The laws are made with respect to the culture of Saudi and there in ancient times women were treated inferior and hence, laws in modern days are also formed according to their culture.

Secondly, no laws are perfect. Each and every law has some loopholes. One cannot blindly trust the laws and wait for justice. In India there are many cases which are pending for more than a decade and this just because, lawyers have found some loopholes in the laws and they, on the basis of those loopholes keep on delaying the case. If one wants solve a problem, law might not be always efficient and hence, should indulge in activities like reforms and protests to solve a problem and can also go to an extent of civil disobedience.

The reason given by the author seems quite inapt. This is because there are number of cases where man have brought a change in people's heart and mind by obeying the laws. One such example of this is Mahatma Gandhi, he mobilized the hearts and minds of Indians by following colonial government's rules and laws. It just require the determination and hard work. Gandhi once quipped "If you want to bring change in the society, first bring change in yourself.". That is, you don't have to shed blood or something to bring the change or solve modern problems. Just follow your heart and keep on doing apposite work, people will automatically follow you.

In sum, yes we can change people's mind by following the laws but, to solve problems in this modern world one can take a different way, and solve the problem more efficiently.