Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The speaker claims that many problems of modern society can not be solved by laws and legal system because he believes that laws cannot change what is in peoples hearts and minds. I concede both the claim and the reason of the author for three reasons.

Every society is bound by rules and regulations but that does not mean that no problems exists in the society. Every society face the transgressions although abide by laws and legal system. The criminals mind always finds the way out of the legal system. For example the problems like rape, murder and other criminal activities are prevalent in each and every society despite being abide by the laws.

Moreover, Laws and legal system differs from place to place. The activity categorized as against legal system in some country might not be the case for transgression in another country. For example, in some countries homosexual marriage is not legalized where as in most of the states in USA homosexual marriages are equally celebrated as heterosexual one. The problem here is not solved by strict rules and regulations against homosexual marriage, but strict rules exacerbated the problem.

Additionally, though being abide by the laws and order most of the people in the people in the society acts upon their own minds and hearts. For example, gender discriminations is a crime in Nepal, while daughters and sons are not equally treated. In Nepal traditional people believe that having son is blessing of god and daughters are generally aborted illegally. Though, the act is not legal people commonly aborts daughter which is because of their belief and thoughts which can not be easily eliminated by the legal system.

In sum, laws and the legal system is basically maintained to solve the problems in the society and to some extent problems are solved by the legal system, Nevertheless only laws and order maintenance is not sufficient for problem solving, change in peoples mind and hearts is more important.